Chicken Soup at Midnight

I just started heating up some chicken soup. I did this last night too. It’s funny, most of the time when something is rumored to do something, it doesn’t. I believe, though, that chicken soup really can make it all better.

All of my stress and anxiety comes pouring out after my son goes to bed. While he’s awake, I have to stay calm and in control. While he’s awake, I love life. I enjoy every moment of my time with him. The reality of the situation is that single parenting is rough! The past few months are taking their toll pretty hard lately. So last night in the midst of a near panic attack I decided to have some soup. I should be more worried about the amount of sodium and the calories I am consuming at midnight, but right now my mental health is top priority. If I have to have chicken soup at midnight to be able to sleep and calm down, I’m going to make some soup. It is probably all in my head, but right now, that works for me!

Today my son looked at me and said, “Mommy, you are beautiful.” It brought tears to my eyes. Maybe he’s right. Maybe I’m too hard on myself. I am so glad to have him in my life, regardless of the situations I have to deal with to have him here!

“The true test of character is not how much we know how to do, but how we behave when we dont know what to do”~John Holt

Leave a Reply

