The Reason I Hate Mother’s Day

When you think of Mother’s Day, you think of moms across the country getting to sleep in. Having breakfast in bed. Getting hand picked “flowers” (weeds). You picture cute, homemade cards, pictures drawn with love, and mothers everywhere finally getting the recognition they deserve.

These things don’t apply if you’re a single mom with a kid too young to know that that day is different than any other. Last year, I got nothing for Mother’s Day. Endless streams of my married friends asked what I got, and when I said nothing, they just said, “oh…” It’s not that I want a gift. I know my son loves me, and I don’t need an object to tell me that. I do wish, though, that I had something to tell people when they asked what I got. It’s awful to look at people and tell them that nobody thought that you as a mother deserved a present. Or a card. Or a hug.

I know I’m not the only mother that has gone unrecognized on this day. I know that some of them are even married. I wish I could send you all cards, girls. I wish we could get together and make each other breakfast in bed. I appreciate each and every one of you, because without you guys to talk to, I might go insane.

But, I hate Mother’s Day, because it is the one day of the year where your mothering is judged by others based on what physical gift you are given. All mothers know somewhere deep inside that none of this matters as long as we are doing the best we can for our kids. I must admit, though, I’m STILL jealous of my friend that got a Coach bag last year from her kids….

So, Happy Mother’s Day to ALL of the mommies out there, whether you get recognized by your kids or not! We all deserve a little love.

One thought on “The Reason I Hate Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

