Love Letter To My Son

This post was written as my first post for Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Worskhop. 

Dear Spencer,

There is no way that I can ever tell you how much I love you. It is something that I think all parents deal with. I love you more than I can possibly tell you, and the thought of anything happening to you kills me.

Before you were born, I didn’t know what love was. I had never fallen head over heels in love and gotten married. I didn’t have a dog or a cat that I considered a child. The moment I found out that you were on your way, I was overwhelmed. I was surprised. I was scared. I was, however, already in love with you.

I was in love with you each and every day of my pregnancy when I threw up. I was also in love with you through the heartburn and leg cramps. I was miserable, but feeling you kick me (which also wasn’t pleasant) gave me the strength to continue on. I loved you when I was this big:

(even though it was 90 degrees)

There was something that I never ever anticipated though. I never thought that the moment I met you that I would fall even more in love. It was at that exact moment, 1:14 pm on June 24, 2008, that I found out the meaning of love. I found out what it is like to have someone in my life that I would give up anything (including my own life) for.

The more you learn and grow, the more I realize how much this love means. It means I am responsible for everything you learn, everything you eat, and everything you do. It means I may someday have to let you go so that you can have your own life and grow up. It means that no matter what you do I love you, and I will do anything in my power to keep you safe, happy, and healthy.

You will not understand this love until you are a parent. In that moment, though, if I have done my job right, you will look down at your little baby, and you too will truly know what I found out the day you were born.

Love is so simple. Love is something you can recognize the second you see it. Love means giving everything you have and expecting nothing in return, but getting the world.

You, my son, give me the world every time you smile.

I love you, baby..

Now, go to bed!

4 thoughts on “Love Letter To My Son

Leave a Reply

