Dating at 28. I Deserve More

As a teenager dating is supposed to be fun. Everyone does what they want. Games are played, feelings are hurt, and life goes on. You live and you learn.

I’ve learned.

I’m done playing games. I’m not a teenager anymore. If you’re just looking to have sex, I want no part of dating you. If you’re married I am really not interested. If you’re terrified of commitment, why are you trying to date?

I have a child. My time is valuable, and I deserve to be treated with respect. Not because I’m a mother, but because I’m a human being. By this age people should have common courtesy and manners down pat. You should know that you don’t approach a woman by talking about (or to) her breasts. You should know that you need to make the first move because this isn’t junior high anymore.

I deserve more than I have found so far. I deserve to be loved, not liked. I deserve to find someone who looks forward to hearing from me. I deserve to find someone I can be silly with. Someone I can also be serious with. I deserve to find a man who loves me for my brain-for who I am, not the size of my breasts. I deserve to find someone who loves my son. Who will accept that he is my world. I deserve to find someone who will fit into my plan. I deserve to find someone who does not need a mother. I am already one man’s mother. I should be able to find someone who does what they say they are going to do when they say they are going to do it. At this age, I really don’t think that’s too much to ask.

2 thoughts on “Dating at 28. I Deserve More

Leave a Reply

