Dear Mr. Right

I recently turned 28, and I have to tell you, my patience is running out. You’re a sneaky one! I thought I found you several times, but I was very wrong. I thought maybe you’d find me if I focused on me. I was wrong there, too. I have searched high and low for you, and I must say, this endless real life game of Where’s Waldo is taking its toll on me (side note: I really hope your name isn’t actually Waldo because I would laugh every time I said it).

It really makes me wonder if, tragically, you died or something. Have I been left to walk the Earth alone for all of eternity? If this is the case, it better not have been for something stupid like sky diving. Maybe you’re far away. Maybe you’re in one of the cities I want to travel to so badly. That itself would almost be tragic. I’m stuck here in Ohio. I can’t take my son from his father, despite our constant bickering. I could never ask you to leave somewhere where you have made a life. I could never ask you to leave your family and friends.

Maybe you are with someone that you thought was me, Ms. Right. If so, can you hurry up and realize that she’s the wrong person, mourn, and be emotionally fine now? Can you just hurry up and show up? Please? I’m lonely, and I’m tired of searching, and I just want to fall into your arms and have the world feel right.

I know that some people never find love. They never find the one. I know that love is fragile, and even if you thought you found it, it can so easily break and fall apart. For so long, though, I have held out hope that you’re out there looking for me, too. I don’t think you’re looking for me at a bar (since I don’t go to them), I don’t think you are looking for me at a church (I don’t go there, either). I thought you might be hanging around a book store, but the only one in town is going out of business. I don’t know where else to look, but I wanted you to know-I’m waiting. I’m right here, and I’m waiting.

Sincerely,

The person who has been looking for you for 28 years.

 

6 thoughts on “Dear Mr. Right

  1. I have quite a few friends who are still looking. The truth? There’s no secret. There’s no magical place. But he’s there. Somewhere. Just keep yourself open and try to enjoy yourself and you’ll find him.

  2. I’m with Sara. Just live your life and be happy, and someday it will just happen. The only thing that seems consistent is that it always happens when you least expect it. Be happy now, the rest will follow.

  3. I have found that when the old saying is true, “When you aren’t looking is when you happen upon that special someone”. It has happened to me, so I know its true. I met the woman I’m totally in love with now by pure chance. In the beginning, we were discussing our mutual relationship issues and it just blossomed from there. I do believe she’s the one I’m going to spend the rest of my life with, but only time will tell. As I’m divorced, I have been wrong before.

    But I do believe it will happen for you, you just have to let it… He will pop up when you least expect him to. πŸ™‚

  4. I agree with you guys, and logically, I know that. Part of me (the one with the internal clock ticking in my ear that reminds me that IF I want to have more kids before I’m 40 I should meet someone now), though, is very loudly screaming at me…

    With that being said, I refuse to be with someone to just be with someone. If it’s not going anywhere, why waste everyone’s time, right? One of my friends told me to lower my standards the other day. haha. Um, pretty sure I shouldn’t have to do that. I’m not going to settle, I’ve already waited this long!

Leave a Reply

