Where I’m From

I am from Barbies, from Baby-sitter’s Club books, and from my grandpa’s popcorn.

I am from the city, the country, and the suburbs. From apartments and split level houses both. I am from Northeast Ohio, with our strange mixture of ways of life.

I am from the wildflowers, the soft petals blowing in the breeze. From fresh apples and apple cider from Sunnyslope. From pumpkin patches. From the corn field across the street from my high school. From my mom’s backyard garden.

I am from Christmas Eves with my family and long, loud laughter, from Sandy and Joe, my real father Jim, and from Betty and Harold.

I am from gossiping and complaining (although everyone loves each other very much-we think).

From set a good example for your younger cousins and siblings and the belief that, on some level, Santa IS real.

I am from Greek Orthodox, Roman Catholic, and Baptist roots, although I am not religious at all now.

I’m from Canton, Ohio. I am from Greece by association. I am from baklava and burgers both.

From listening to my grandpa tell me the story of the day I was born, the times I sat on his knee and wrote my name, and from watching my many younger cousins grow up.

I am from attics and basements full of memories that are probably meaningless to anyone outside of our family. I am from homemade Christmas ornaments that are 25 years old wrapped with as much care as the brand new expensive glass figurines. I am from old trunks full of letters and papers.

This was written for Mama Kat’s!

8 thoughts on “Where I’m From

  1. “I am from gossiping and complaining (although everyone loves each other very much-we think).” That is so typical of families.

    Really good job with this prompt.

Leave a Reply

