The Upside to Single Parenting

There’s a lot of negativity attached to single parenting. It’s not ALL bad, though. So I am taking it upon myself to find and share the silver lining.

  1. Nobody else puts money in your bank account-but nobody else is spending it, either.
  2. If I don’t want to, I don’t have to watch football, baseball, basketball, car shows, car crashes, people shooting each other, or shows with unnecessary nearly nude women.
  3. My son and I can eat any time we’re hungry. We had dinner at 3:20 pm yesterday. Then we had big snack later.
  4. You have no idea how much less laundry there is when there are just the two of us. Bonus: no dirty socks in my bathroom sink! (My ex’s favorite dirty sock spot)
  5. If the house is a mess, I at least know for sure that it’s my fault…or Spencer’s.
  6. So many of my friends seem to ask their husbands for permission to do things. I don’t need permission!
  7. If I wanted, I could decorate my room in hot pink Hello Kitty stuff. I don’t want to (anymore….years ago though….) but I could.
  8. I make the rules. I reinforce the rules. There is no going behind my back to dad.
  9. There is a sense of satisfaction knowing that I am doing it on my own. I am making it on my own. I am raising a very sweet, very kind little boy. Alone.
  10. If I want to sit on the couch in big baggy sweatpants and eat ice cream out of the container nobody’s going to stop me…except, hopefully, me…

It’s not all bad, folks. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “The Upside to Single Parenting

  1. Yes, it definitely is not all bad! My parents divorced when I was three years old, and for a while it was just either me and my dad, or me and my mom. There were times when I actually enjoyed being just ‘the two of us.’

    Also, even back when my marriage was not on the rocks as it is now, there were lots of time when I would take some alone trips out of town, just to get away from it all. I’d relish not having to explain why I decided to take a shower at 11 pm at night, or have a full breakfast for supper. I would enjoy those few days, where things would stay exactly as I had left them (an impossibility whenever my husband’s around).

    You are doing great, Kadie! Honestly, single-parenting is so underrated!

  2. Great outlook! As a single parent we do tend to get bogged down with the bad stuff. I always say the best part of being a single Mom is not having to share my kids. I get all the hugs, kisses and snuggles. So worth it! And yes, love making the rules!

Leave a Reply

