Time Out With Spencer

“NO FAIR NO FAIR NO FAIR NO FA…”

Oh, hi. I see you’ve interrupted my fit. Hold on, let me stand up off the floor and tell you all about it.

I’m three. Life is hard. I always have super awesome amazing ideas, and my mom always tells me no! She’s always acting like she’s the boss or something! It’s really getting out of hand lately, though. Let me backtrack a little bit. *tries to walk backwards and trips over a dump truck*

Since mommy felt guilty about not being able to breastfeed me, she gave me all organic baby food. Blech. I mean, I thought it was yummy then, but when I was 18 months old I was allowed to have real food. Some of you may argue that what my mom was giving me was the real food. I disagree. Mommy started letting me have snacks and treats because everybody else was trying to give them to me.

So, when I had the really smart idea to have cookies for dinner tonight, my mom said NO! Can you believe it? She must not know that cookies are yummier than chicken and salad and baked ‘tatoes. Anyway, I was very loudly calmly screaming saying that we should have cookies for dinner. Do you know what she did then?

She put me in time out! So that’s where we are now. In time out. I was just telling her that it wasn’t fair, but she didn’t seem to hear me, so I had to say it louder! Hey! Do you have any cookies? I mean if you gave me a cookie I wouldn’t have to eat-

OH here she comes. You better go! Don’t tell mommy I asked you for cookies. I mean, I don’t want her to feel bad about not giving me any and making me ask strangers! Bye guys!

This post was written for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop in response to this prompt:

4.) What was the last thing your child cried about? Write a blog post about the problem in the voice of your child.

8 thoughts on “Time Out With Spencer

Leave a Reply

