Real Moms Love to Eat!

I was sick for most of my pregnancy, but when I was not on the verge of losing my lunch I was, well, eating lunch. I’m sure this is part of the reason I was so sick all the time, and why I gained so much weight. The truth is, throughout my teenage years and for the first part of my twenties, I paid no attention to what I was putting in my mouth. This lackadaisical approach to nutrition left me scratching my head post pregnancy. I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why the pounds were not just falling back off.

The problem was, while I was filling up my stomach, I was not actually feeding my body what it needed. I was worn out, and I was making up for the laziness caused by my poor diet with something even worse. Pepsi.

I’ll wait a minute while you guys finish gasping and whispering to each other….done? Ok.

Real Moms Love to Eat is a new book by Beth Aldrich. Oh how I wish I had had this book then. Instead of talking about diets it teaches you about the ways that the food you eat effects your body. There is a 21 day meal plan, but it is more about changing your attitude toward food than “dieting” in the traditional crash diet-y kind of way. What I love the most is that she encourages you to experiment with different ways to eat. This is exactly what I need to be able to lose weight and keep it off without starving for the rest of my life, because without variety, I will end up binge eating. The book is broken up into 3 sections and it includes a 10 part plan to make gradual changes to your lifestyle. At first I thought that sounded a bit complicated, but I thought harder and realized that not being healthy was going to get far more complicated than following 10 steps!

The recipes on Beth’s website look absolutely delicious, and I can’t wait to try some out. This brings me to her Food Affairiate program! She is offering bloggers the chance to read the book and write a review! You register with her, read the ebook, and write the review. When the book comes out in January you get a paper copy, a goodie bag full of things from the book tour sponsors, and a chance to win a number of different prizes (including some awesome kitchen appliances)!

I highly encourage you guys to take a second to look at this, even if you don’t have any weight concerns. It is about creating a healthy lifestyle. I know that I want to be around when Spencer graduates college, gets married, and has my grand-babies! The time to start making changes is now. No time like the present!

 

I assure you that all of the opinions above are my own, but:

I wrote this blog post while participating in the SocialMoms and Beth Aldrich – Real Moms Love to Eat blogging program, for a chance to get 3,000 My SocialMoms Rewards points. For more information on how you can participate, click here.

2 thoughts on “Real Moms Love to Eat!

Leave a Reply

