Finally Exhaling

I’m not sure if any of you know this, because it’s just not something that comes up in conversation very often, but my cousin Missy has Cystic Fibrosis. She has a rare strain of it, and luckily she has been healthier than most people with the disease. She has been lucky…So lucky, in fact, that today the FDA approved a drug that basically cures the strain of CF that she has. Cures. As in, this life threatening, always fatal disease that she has had for her ENTIRE life…is going to be managed with two pills a day. She can get a cold without going to the hospital. She can breathe nearly normally. When I read about this today, I felt like I finally let out a breath that I’ve been holding. One that I wasn’t aware of. Missy has always been so strong. She is 5 years younger than I am, but she is the one that taught me to swallow pills. I remember, when she was maybe 5 or 6, she said, “No, they’re going to cure it. I am going to live a long time.” At the time I thought she didn’t understand fully the disease that she had. Little did I know she just had faith. Little did I know, she was right.

While this is only the solution for this one strain, and only about 1200 people in the US have this strain, it still provides hope for the rest of the people. If you or someone that you love has CF, hang in there. Don’t give up hope. There IS hope. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and they are working tirelessly to reach it for you, too.

If you don’t know what CF is or just want more info, you can visit cff.org. While you’re there, if you have a few dollars to spare, there’s a link for donations. That’s totally up to you, though. If you want to learn more about this drug, you can read about it here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/01/31/kalydeco-cystic-fibrosis-cause-drug_n_1244218.html

So today my family is finally exhaling, and it feels amazing.

Leave a Reply

